Monthly Archives: September 2020

Finding Genealogical Data in the Chinese Exclusion Act Case Files Webinar

Legacy Family Tree Webinar
“Finding Genealogical Data in the Chinese Exclusion Act Case Files” – Wednesday, September 16, 2020 by Trish Hackett Nicola, CG

Chinese genealogical research is challenging. Even the names are confusing—a person could have two or three distinctly different names during his lifetime, and possibly an Americanized version. This webinar will give a brief history of the act, tell where the files are located, and how to access them. Examples of the rich genealogical information found in the files will be given—interrogations, affidavits, photographs, vital records, and more. The Act was in effect for 61 years—1882 to 1943. There are over 5 million Chinese Americans in the U.S. Many with ancestors who arrived in the United States before 1943 may have someone with a Chinese Exclusion Act case file.

Register  (Free – be sure to register before 9/14.)   https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/5597569020404699138

  • 2:00pm Eastern, 1:00pm Central, 12:00pm Mountain, 11:00am Pacific, 6:00pm GMT